What movie? And Viewer Mail!

I’m a fan of movies.  Most people are.  My mom can take or leave movies, which is weird in my family.  My husband is an avid fan of a select few movies, but can generally take or leave movies as well.  (Ironically, his choice movies are the movies that I HATE).

I hate the following movies my husband loves in no particular order for the said reasons:

  • The Karate Kid (2010) – because the title says Karate and there is no karate.
  • Avatar – because it’s a self-serving piece of CGI weird annoying garbage.
  • Inception – because I hate what I don’t understand.

I love the following movies my husband loves in no particular order for the said reasons:

  • The entire Pirates of the Caribbean series – I’m a fan of pirates in general.  It started with The Pirate Movie (1982), a horrible and wonderful musical film that no one probably saw but me and Matt.
  • The entire Harry Potter series – because it’s Harry Potter and you don’t need a reason.

You can be having a conversation with me, and I’ll randomly quote a (relevant) line to a movie, and look at you expectantly like you totally got what I just said.  Because life is like that – you saw me looking kinda forlorn, and you knew that when you asked me “what happened to you?”, I said “I got hit with a Frosty”, you just knew I was quoting Nicholas Cage in The Weather Man.  My dad does this too, except when he does it, he says “WHAT MOVIE????”  This especially does not work on my mom, who generally never knows what movie, and now we do it just to annoy her. 

I love going to the movies.  I even enjoy going to the movies alone. At times, I find that I laugh more at movies when I’m alone.  My most favorite part of going to movies is watching the trailers before the movies.   There are some people that are very very very good at making trailers for movies, and some that are very bad.  I’d like to congratulate the person that made the trailer for A Haunted House (coming soon).  I don’t think I’ve laughed that hard at just a trailer in a long time.  Also, I’m very afraid that’s all the funny parts to the movie.  You can view the trailer here: http://youtu.be/5VoiD8Fr_SU.  If you feel you are too highbrow for the Wayans brothers, don’t waste your time.  Also, why are you reading my blog?

What movies are your favorites?  Tell me.  Comment away…  Also, tell me why.  Don’t just say OMG I LOVE BEACHES and then don’t say why.  I hate that.  Also, Beaches is a terrible movie.

NEW FOR 2013!  VIEWER MAIL!

I’m going to start a new thing in 2013 – Viewer Mail!  I’m going to take requests for advice emails at superbloggyblog@gmail.com and post them (de-identified) on my blog with my honest answers.  You know this probably isn’t a serious thing, so if you need real help,  you probably shouldn’t ask me.  You should call 911, or your doctor, or maybe your spouse or parent.  Let me provide you an example:

Dear SuperBloggyBlog Blogger,

My dog won’t stop barking at the neighbor’s cat.  What should I do?

Sincerely,

Reader

Dear Reader,

Have you considered calling animal control?  Of course you have. They never come.  Have you addressed the issue with your rude neighbor who lets their cat just walk and poop all over the neighborhood?  Probably not, because no one likes confronting the person they  have to live next door to every day.  My suggestion? Capture the cat, dress it up, and let it loose.  Your dog will probably no longer recognize the cat, and then you’ll have something fun to look at.

Sincerely,

SuperBloggyBlog Blogger

Get crackin!  superbloggyblog@gmail.com!

34 comments

  1. Dee Woodson · January 10, 2013

    I often fall victim to missing your movie quotes. Oftentimes, I will catch that it was a quote after the moment has passed and feel like a complete idiot.

    Favorite movie(s): Star Wars (the original 3 not the stupid prequils) because Han Solo was my first crush and has the most pimp movie line ever when Princess Leia tells him she loves him.

    Office Space because I often want to take a baseball bat to my fax machine/computer/co-workers while a Ghetto Boys song plays.

    • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

      Your favorite movies are legitimate. congratulations on making correct choices. =D

  2. Christin Davis · January 10, 2013

    First don’t diss Beaches! I love that movie because it gives me an excuse to sing all songs my family doesn’t like. Although, I know deep down I’m a Hillary, I like to pretend I’m CeCe so I can pretend I’m a star while singing all the songs my family doesn’t like..hehehe. Just recently G.I. Jane was on T.V. and I remember how much I liked the part were she beats up her master chief…AWESOME! I also like to pretend I’m a badass, tough, biatch that can take anyones shit and beat the shit out of them if needed, because sometimes you just need to beat the crap out of an idiot for whatever reason. LOL!!! These aren’t really my fav’s or non-likes but I just had to defend Beaches and G.I Jane was just on TV. 🙂

    • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

      This is probably the funniest comment ever. Also BEACHES IS STUPID! It was only made to ruin your masacara application!

      • Christin Davis · January 10, 2013

        Glad I made you laugh! And DUH on the mascara, that’s why I don’t wear any when I watch it and if for some stupid reason I am, I blot like the mother and daughter country stars Wynona or… well, crap, now I can’t remember their names. But they put the tissue between their eye lashes so the mascara doesn’t get in their eyes when they cry. I thought that was GENIOUS till I tried it and realized I don’t have lang ass fake eye lashes so the tissue kept getting in my eyeball. :/ …Hmmm, looks like I veered off subject like usual. :0

  3. meghanlcoulter · January 10, 2013

    I LOVE LAMP. I too fall victim to the movie quote thing. My man/boyfriend/husband/lover has an almost Eidetic memory and remembers everything. I always have a confused look on my face.

    I don’t love to non animated movies a second time. I think the only movie that was not animated, or seasonal, was about a giant boat, I won’t ruin the ending. I was 15-16. I really liked Kate Winslet! So yeah, I feel like I know the ending and what not. Oh just remembered Rocky Horror. well ya know.

    My favorite Movie is “A little Princess” 1995. I like when the monkey comes over with the magic Indian man and decorates her attic room. And I like the stories she tells. She was the childhood friend I always wanted. “I am a princess. All girls are. Even if they live in tiny old attics. Even if they dress in rags, even if they aren’t pretty, or smart, or young. They’re still princesses. All of us. Didn’t your father ever tell you that? Didn’t he? ”

    I love “Princess Mononoke” It’s really just awesome. It’s a great story and a little wierd and scary and has great voice acting. I really like the wolves, and the animation. This noise at the beginning of this clips http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BoZpCmcnM_s it makes me very happy. the kodama are so cute!. I once had a Kodama pin.

    “Spirited away” also makes me happy. It’s just a nice little slightly scary happy anime with a water dragon. The charcoal is awesome The characters are awesome and silly and it’s an awesome fantasy that is slightly different.

    I love the whole world of Films by hayao miyazaki. They are great and wondrous worlds.

    I also love Disney movies. They remind of sitting and babysitting my little brothers. We would sit on the couch with their blankies. My youngest brother was a bobble head, and he wore the softest navy blue polar bear jammies. After bathtime we would sit and sing along. “NAAAAAA ZII PINNYAAA AAAAMAADDEECCHA MOOBO”

    • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

      I will ruin the ending. LEONARDO DICAPRIO DIES AND KATE WINSLET IS SELFISH BECAUSE THERE WAS TOTALLY ROOM ON THAT PLANK FOR 2 PEOPLE.

  4. Amy Bee · January 10, 2013

    I love Beaches. Because you hate it.

    • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

      I love you anyway. But Beaches still sucks. The song is great though…did you ever know that I’m your heeeeerooooooo?

  5. MasaGirl · January 10, 2013

    Hate Inception because it’s so confusing, it’s actually stupid. Hate Beaches because Wind Beneath My Wings gets stuck in my head EVERY SINGLE TIME I think about the movie. Yeah, so thank you. I’m now humming the song in my head and it will torment me all day. Hate Blair Witch Project because just typing that title made me dizzy. Love National Lampoons Christmas Vacation because Clark reminds me of my Dad. Love Friday-puff puff pass- because it takes me back to my childhood in California. Love You’ve Got Mail because of the soundtrack.

  6. Joseph · January 10, 2013

    The last PotC sucked. The concept was tired after the second one. I like Johnny Depp, he was great as Jack as again, but the last one was made to squeeze some more money out of the franchise. I’ll leave HP alone. Didn’t care for it. The Godfather II is one of my favorite movies. For obvious reasons, it’s a classic, best sequel all time, in my opinion, etc. I liked Friday. I was 15 the first time I watched it and could not stop laughing. There are a lot of one-liners from that movie. Lastly, Inception was good. That movie was probably the only movie with the “wtf” ending that didn’t piss me off. Oh yeah, I’ve already liked The Princess Bride. The wife laughs at me for that.

    • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

      I disagree with you because Ian McShane is amazing and he can carry any movie. You just wanted more Norrington, but he was dead. Wonk wonk. Also, any movie that is a movie inside a movie inside a film inside a DVD inside a tv show inside a commercial inside a YouTube clip sucks.

      • Joseph · January 11, 2013

        How could I forget the 80’s. Back to the Future. John Hughes flicks. Beverly Hills Cop.

  7. SIL · January 10, 2013

    As many times HP is on in your house, I still haven’t watch it completely.
    Not a fan of J.Lo but Selena gets me every time. I really have no idea why, but I have to watch it when it comes on. Perhaps I wanted to be her, wearing those boost-ti-ka-kas 😉
    Wayne’s World never ever ever ever gets old. I had a strange attraction to Dana Carvey as an actor, especially in Opportunity Knocks. Such the cute con-artist.
    The newer Ocean’s Eleven. Just for Brad Pitt eating.
    The list is too long for ones I hate. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

    • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

      And Matt dares to accuse you of disliking comedies? You just nailed the greatest movie Lorne Michaels ever made ever of all time ever. Ever. And I’m sure my dad would agree with Selena. LOL

  8. Donna · January 10, 2013

    I like my daughter like anything HarryP and Pirates of the C.. I do like any western with Clint Eastwood and any movie with Robet Duvall.
    I still do not undestand why my favorite female actress is Bette Midler
    I like her in comedies and Beaches only sucked because CeCe grows up,(and death at the end of a movie always sucks) Unless your name is Voldermort. P.S. By my first line you realized its your Dad ,not mom writing on her mail. So …”Somebody ‘s got to go back and get a shitload of dimes” WHAT MOVIE!!!

    • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

      Only the movie that you guys were seeing the night I was born….

  9. Mr. Han · January 10, 2013

    You say The Karate Kid (2010) like there is another The Karate Kid.

  10. Donna · January 10, 2013

    I like Pure Country because of George Strait and his music, not the acting. I like Singing in the Rain because of Gene Kelly and his magic feet. Is there a pattern? I also like Grease because of all the singing and dancing. I love Dirty Dancing because of the music and dancing. Is there a pattern? Oh yah, I like Urban Cowboy…ummm, why? I’d like to post a quote from Dusty Wyatt Chandler but frankly, he didn’t have much to say. He just had to stand there and look pretty.

  11. Cassi · January 10, 2013

    I am not above the Wayans brothers because, GHOST BALLS!
    My favorite movie changes pretty constantly, but always in the top ten, in no particular order, are: The Blues Brothers (The music! The cameos! The group dancing! The 70’s!), Coming To America (“I have a secret; I worship the devil” <— I use this line *at least* once a day.), A Hard Day's Night (the story is terrible, but the soundtrack is amazing, and George Harrison is a sexy beast.), Clash Of The Titans – 1981 (I was obsessed with this movie as a kid, and the genius claymation – that's right, fool! I said GENIUS CLAYMATION – of Ray Harryhausen is effing classic.), and Labyrinth (David Bowie. Bam.).

    • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

      I’m with you. There are movies that I will eternally love (Coming to America. Big Trouble in Little China. Wayne’s World. Singing in the Rain.) and the list probably evolves over time with newer movies…(The Other Guys. Zoolander. Bridesmaids.). It’s never final. Like, I’d totally never laminate it.

      • Cassi · January 10, 2013

        How did I leave out Wayne’s World? One of three movies I can fully quote the entire way through.
        My God. I have no life.

      • superbloggyblog · January 10, 2013

        I hope we can remember it when we’re 80 and embarrass our children.

      • superbloggyblog · January 11, 2013

        This morning I remembered Restoration, Hot Fuzz, and Pirate Radio (ugh, that soundtrack, amazing). I will probably come up with 50 more. Oh yeah, As Good As It Gets. See? It never stops.

  12. Kim Hyatt · January 10, 2013

    I LOVE “Sixteen Candles”!! It always makes laugh. Plus, it’s a time before things became so serious, and kids were kids.

  13. g2-880647ef38c4e78018439baaf8b9a928 · January 10, 2013

    Snatch and Super Troopers in no particular order. Neither which the wife has seen or cares to see. So quotes are met with a blank look. Especially if attempted in a British accent. On second though, put ST first because it doesn’t require subtitles.

  14. Dad · January 12, 2013

    Once again your keen senses have predicted that all the funny parts WERE in the trailer of Haunted House. I saw it today and only paid $5.00 and felt I was ripped off.
    Cedric the Entertainer’s character was the only thing that kept me there. 2 thumbs down.
    “Warning! Assholes are closer than they appear.”
    WHAT MOVIE!!????

    • superbloggyblog · January 12, 2013

      I didn’t want to be right….waaaaaah!!!

      (Ace Ventura, Laney Detective dress alike)

  15. Pingback: HEY GUYS WHAT’S UP |

Leave a Reply

