Because My Memory Sucks Part 1: Music

Welcome to my new series, “Because My Memory Sucks.”  Why, you ask?  Because it does, and it has for quite some time.  Why does it suck?  Well, I’d really like to know.  In the past, I 100% blamed it on not sleeping well.  By not sleeping “well” I mean not sleeping for more than 3 hours at a time over 8 years and not without pharmacological assistance (medicine).  That’s not well.  Nope.

Now, I sleep at least 7 hours, unassisted, and I’m TIRED ALL THE TIME.  That’s probably for different reasons, but that’s another post for another day.  (YAY)  Today, I’m starting this blog post to create a running list of the artists I’ve seen live.  I know, this is boring and self-serving, but I want to know who you’ve seen live as well.  Also, if you went somewhere with me and I missed it, please tell me! Again, my memory sucks!

Do we overlap?  Is there someone NOT on my list that you think is a must see?  Is there someone you saw that I should avoid at all costs?  Give me some feedback.  

Houston Rodeo Performances (because this should always be its own category)
Alabama
Tony Bennett
Clint Black
Brooks & Dunn*
Charlie Daniels Band
Duran Duran
Vince Gill
Alan Jackson* (a bunch of times between 1992 and 2004)
Lynyrd Skynyrd
Neal McCoy
John Michael Montgomery
Anne Murray (I pretty much think this was my first “concert”)
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton
Steve Miller Band
George Strait* (a bunch of times)
Keith Urban
Clay Walker* (also a bunch of times)
Zac Brown Band*

Festivals
Buzzfest 1999: Better Than Ezra, Chlorien, Collective Soul, Eve 6, The Flys, GPR, Jude, Lit, My Friend Steve, Soul Coughing, Sponge, Tin Star, Tommy Hendrickson, Train
Buzzfest 2001: 8Stops7, Alien Ant Farm, The Apex Theory, Bliss 66, The Calling, Default, Fuel, Joydrop, NICKELBACK (OMG SHOOT ME), Pressure 4-5, Remy Zero, Saliva, Tantric, Transmatic
Austin City Limits 2014 (only bands I saw): Eminem, Outkast, Skrillrex, Beck, Lana Del Rey, Foster the People, Major Lazer, Spoon, Interpol, Childish Gambino, Chvrches, St. Vincent, Iggy Azalea, Icona Pop, Capital Cities, Paolo Nutini, Jenny Lewis, Sam Smith, Kongos, J. Roddy Walston & the Business
Austin City Limits 2015 (only bands I saw): Foo Fighters, Tame Impala, Gary Clark Jr, Billy Idol, Brandon Flowers, George Ezra, Run The Jewels, Leon Bridges, Royal Blood, Meg Myers
Day for Night 2015 (only bands I saw): Janelle Monae, Flying Lotus, CocoRosie, Future Blondes, Prince Rama, New Order
Free Press Summer Fest 2016 (only bands I saw): Modest Mouse, Jamie XX, Gogol Bordello, Matt and Kim, X Ambassadors, Built to Spill, David Ramirez, Lewis Del Mar, Chicano Batman, Sir the Baptist, Deadmau5, The National, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, The Chainsmokers, Leon Bridges*, Young the Giant, Big Grams, Violent Femmes, Against Me!
Austin City Limits 2016 (only bands I saw): Bear Hands, Bad Suns, The Wombats, Banks & Steelz, The Strumbellas, Foals, Cold War Kids, Corinne Bailey Rae, Die Antwoord, Band of Horses, M83, Radiohead, Major Lazer*

Other Shows in no particular order (because I cannot remember the date, mostly)(and will be updated when I remember stuff):
Paul McCartney at Minute Maid Park
Michael Buble’* (3 times)
Naturally 7* (twice with Buble’)
George Strait at Rice Stadium
George Strait at Minute Maid Park
New Kids on the Block*
Backstreet Boys
Boyz II Men
98 Degrees
Burden Brothers
Cake
Dave Gahan
Depeche Mode* (3 times)
Crystal Castles
Peter Bjorn and John
Death Cab For Cutie
Royal Blood
Adele
Britney Spears
Nicki Minaj
311
Sublime with Rome
Mumford and Sons
Dropkick Murphys
Aerosmith
P!nk
Justin Timberlake* (2 times)
Grouplove

I feel tired just making this list.

UPDATED!
Planned for 2017 – will be moved to the above category if/when they are attended:
Red Hot Chili Peppers (January)
Miranda Sings (January, for Laney of course)
Bastille (April, Laney’s request also)
Atlas Genius (April)
Night Riots (April)
Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness (April)

5 comments

  1. Mom · November 15

    Where was most unique venue?

    • superbloggyblog · November 15

      I think Day for Night at Silver Street wins most unique.

      • Mom · November 16

        Your list is impressive!

  2. Holly · November 15

    My list will never be as impressive as yours. You have made me realize how much I am missing out on in terms of music. There are so many people I want/I need to see! How can you say your memory sucks? I need to go with you. That is some kind of list.

    So even though I won’t remember every concert…here’s my best shot.

    Jon Bon Jovi
    Bob Dylan
    Cindy Lauper (great performer)
    Cher
    Tim McGraw (For can goods)
    Kentucky Headhunters
    Paul Revere and the Raiders
    Maximillian
    Clay Walker
    Kenny Rodgers
    Neil McCoy
    Jason Aldean *bunch of times
    Rascal Flatts
    Pat Green
    Ray Price
    Various Motown groups
    Johnny D and the Rocket 88’s
    I love 80’s and 90’s cover bands!

    I want to see:
    Journey
    Kenny Chesney
    Aerosmith
    George Strait
    Zac Brown
    New Kids
    Brooks and Dunn
    Garth Brooks
    Alabama
    …..too many more!

    • superbloggyblog · November 15

      You got to see Ray Price and Bob Dylan though. Those are two huge icons in music.

Leave a Reply

